today is sunday and i have the day off. woo-hoo! lately we've had thursdays and sundays off. before that it use to be weds and sundays. always sunday. either way, i don't really care what day we get off because we got off work at 1pm everyday and thats so much time to explore. unless its a day off we usually only explore till 530 and come home to make dinner as a group. as a group we'll have a nice family dinner with lots of nice conversation. we drink beer. we groove. the evenings here are my favorite time of day. living here is very isolating and all i really know is the people i'm surrounding myself with and what they're doing. its not isolating in a bad way. ive learned to deal with it/its grown on me. its good for me. plus, the people i'm surrounded by are absolutely superb. everyone ive met here has my stay the most enjoyable experience ever. i'm truly lucky and greatful for that. tomorrow alex ( the wwoofer from france) leaves for the kona side to go work on his next farm. he's been great and i've had some wonderful adventures with him. i'm gonna try and post my favorite picture of him. okay it didn't work but whatever. ill miss him. he's a good travel buddy. we get a new wwoofer at the end of the week i do believe. i can't wait to be her friend!
as far as the experience goes that i've had so far i would say its been much more of a culture and communally living experience than a farming experience. i farm during the day but its a lot of weeding and the focus hasn't been on that. that's okay with me though. the farming part is still nice. the days and nights here are filled to the brim with stimulating conversation. not once, not never do we ever have a boring conversation. the people here are by far the most interesting people i have ever met in my life.
pineapple season has started and since theyre pretty well known for there pineapples we don't get many. HOLY SHIT I SEE LIVE BOARS WITHIN SIGHT RIGHT NOW. they're huge!! people are gonna start hunting them. baby ones too! anyways. sorry. they are just RIGHT THERE. but anyway. pineapples. theyre known for their white pineapple. the works or wwooofers..we only get the smashed up ones or the ones that don't sell at the fruit stand. but HOT DAMN! they are sooooooooooooooooo good. its white pineapple so it doesn't have the tartness of a yellow pineapple but it same the sweetness. its like candy. and they're fresh as hell. that probably helps. SO GOOD. mm. the juice just runs right down my lips onto my arms. i've been eating well here. working well to so its a good balance. i eat more now cos i work hard. all/most of the meals are communal and everyone here cooks fabulously. i still have yet to master grocery shopping and utilizing into meals and waht not. theres an art to it. ben and i realized we can't afford the natural foods store when we accidently spent 115 dollars!! woops. oh well. things here are also more exspensive because they have to import everything. it sucks. but we're dealing.
as far as swimming in the ocean goes there aren't many SANDY beaches anywhere. mostly rocky sandy beaches but its okay. i don't actually like the big waves because i get motion sickness and have to get out. there are mostly little ponds or tide pools. imagine all the rocks at lake superior and in between the rocks there are little salt water pools. they vary in size and depth but most of them are decent n size. within an hour walking there are about 2 of these types of places from my farm. if we don't go there we go to this huge pond called the champagne pond. its a huge salt water pond where waves come crashing. great great great place for snorkeling and its almost always secluded with just a couple locals. we have to hitch hike there. hitch hiking has become so natural. so natural yet still such a huge rush. its quite fun. most people will pick you up. everybody here has an interesting story to tell. and everyone wants to hear your story too.
the people of puna (the area i'm in. the people here call themselves punatics. i've also heard this area called punaverse..) look up puna. you'll read some intersesting things. the area i'm in is almost all natives. the white people that have come here are old hippies from the 70's that were trying to escape the life of the mainland. nobody here really talks fondly of the mainland. hawaii should be its own country. they talk about the mainland as though its a far and distant country. i definatlly don't feeel like i'm spending the summer in the states.
ben is lovely. he's a beautiful person. he's getting better and better at guitar everyday. we have regular jam sessions every nice and he's just thriving. i really do love him and its been such a thrill everyday to experience this with him. i'm gonna go see if theres any dinner happening now. spend some time with alex before he ships off.
ALOHA here means love, compassion, and mercy for all souls. and you really do feel it when people say it to you. its a real thing. no doubt. so ALOHA to all you people. i love and miss you all very much.
p.s. my friend andy. he climbs coconut trees. its truly a site to see!
