Saturday, June 5, 2010

aloha!

aloha friends and family! i thought id write in here more because i haven't in a bit. sorry about that. we get off work at 2 everyday and usually head to some body of water after so i don't come and blog but i will try and update you on what i have been up to since last time.

i'm feeling a lot better about being here than when i last wrote. i have become much more comfortable and cool. i feel really close with the other wwoofers and i'm sad that they are leaving in a week! it went by so fast. we got a new wwoofer today. her name is natalie and she's from northern california. she's very californian and a surfer girl. super cool and super sweet. i'm pumped to spend the next few months with her! we have been doing lots of cool stuff lately! the work day here isn't bad at all. we start at 9 and are usually done by 1. piece of cake. we've been doing a lot of weeding the plants. since we're in the jungle everything grows like crazy here so weeding is a very necessary thing to do. so many weeds. ben just kissed my toe. i also have started working in the fruit trees and i really really like doing that work.

after work we have just spent our time exploring around and going to all the places people recommend to us. we went to this place called the mermaid ponds. they kind of remind me of lake superior where there are big rocks you climb in front of the lake but instead of the lake its the pacific ocean. its not a swimming spot but there little small pools you can wade in. its beautiifulll to sit on the rocks and watch the waves crash up onto the rocks. some big fucking waves i tell ya! to get to the mermaid ponds we have to walk through the mango groves. the mango groves is where its like this long path where all the mango trees are woven into each other and so its really shady and beautiful. i posted some pictures of it on facebook.

our day was a really fun adventure! we planned our day with the other wwoofer alex who is from france. i really like him. its been fascinating to learn all about his culture. anyways. we 3 left the farm at like 7:15 because we wanted to catch the bus in town, right? but to get to town we have to hitch. we got a ride into pahoa but not till late so we ended missing the first bus which just threw us off course for the rest of the day. the lady we were hitching with was stopping in pahoa but going on to the next town over before hilo (which was our final destination) so she said she'd drop us in the next town and we could hitch from there. that was a fun ride cause we sat in the back of her pickup truck on the highway! wicked!!! she dropped us off at the next town's dump haha so we had to stand in front of the driveway of the dump where people exit to try and hitch because otherwise people would have been going so fast. it took us like 30-40 minutes to get a ride from there but finally we got a ride to hilo from a nice couple. we sat in the back of their pickup truck too. nice breeze! anyways. we got to hilo! finally! and then we had to catch the bus to richardsons beach which is outside of hilo!! it took us so long to find the bus stop but finally a nice woman helped us. very friendly people here for the most part.

anyways, point being is we FINALLY got to richardsons beach and it was just a nice little beach where ben and alex could swim. i can't swim yet cause of this damn cut. anyways. then we went to coconut island where we could see sea turtles (like crush from finding nemo!) but we only saw one because so many people were around. that was a long day. it ended by us having dinner/lunch in hilo and catching the hilo to pahoa bus which was like an hour ride. kind of a jank bus but it was a nice time to reflect on our adventure. then we hitched back to the farm. such a fun day!!!! i like hitching. its an adventure. tis been all good experiences.

we went to pohiki which is a black sand beach and that was nice. that was yesterday? no the day before yesterday. pohiki is kindof a crazy family beach area. lots of beer and people picnicing with their families. the pier has the big cement blocks you can lay on above the water so i just laid there and tanned. it was nice and warm. then we went to the millionaires pond which is just a big thermal pool with black lava rock surrounding it. really warm and nice.

yesterday was my favorite hitching experience because me,kyle,michelle,julia,and ben all decided to hitch to town. except that is to big of a group to get a ride together so we split up. ben and i went ahead and they stayed behind. they got a ride before us!! lame. then we got a ride and drove past them where they got dropped off and then we got dropped off and they went past us and then we got another ride and met them there. we just kept passing eachother. then we got a ride back all together from the nicest guy who drove us ALL back to the farm!usually we get a ride most of the way and have to walk for like 20 minutes but he was nice and just dropped us off at our driveway. so outta his way but so nice. its been such an adventure hitching!!! i love it!! its a thrill.

anyways, i'm feeling good. living in the now. and enjoying the beautiful scenary and the people. there is some drama on the farm because its sacred land so alot of the locals don't like the owners (janelle and steve). so that's lame and there are some shady people always coming and going on the property that aren't suppose to. but right now i am feeling comfortable. tomorrow is our day off and we're going to kahena which is a party beach where they have drum circles and people drink and toke and go nude. it'll be a sight to see so thats why i'm going. and i should be able to get in the ocean finally!!

i am eating lots of tropical fruit for you all and thinking of you all everyday. love you all!!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment